Explaining Life, Relationships, And a Lack of Sanity

Friends With Benefits

 

You know, I need to first start with my personal opinion: IF you have a friend with benefits (FWB for those who don’t know and live under a rock…on a different planet… in a different galaxy), there should be a limit on how long you guys are just FWB until you are deemed as “in a relationship”. Obviously, if you have a FWB, or you are that person, as the fallback when your normal smexy-time life is a bit slow, then it’s a different story. Or at least a different timeline. No matter what, there’s a damn limit!

Let me bring forth a situation… If someone is “single” but they have been smashing the same person consistently and monogamously for 2+ years, and the other person has been monogamous as well, y’all are pretty much in a relationship. Both people must be in some serious denial and have a deathly fear of commitment. Now let’s say we add feelings to this… YOU. ARE. IN. A. DAMN. RELATIONSHIP. We all know denial is usually the first step to acceptance, but that’s just overkill.

How do you go about dealing with a situation like that?

I mean… I’m sure if neither person isn’t looking for commitment, it’s fine and dandy. Convenient even. But what happens when one person starts having legitimate feelings for the other person and it’s just this sexually frustrated, one-sided mess of emotions? Feelings for someone can make or break an agreement for fuck buddies or FWB.

I am the type of person who can really only sleep with someone if I have a real connection with them or I already have feelings for said person. I’m in NO way saying that having a FWB is a bad thing, I’m simply stating that I’d be a sucky candidate. Hell, I suck at even doing breakups unless someone did me dirty on a whole new level of petty. So I don’t really understand the concept of sleeping with someone more than once, knowing I have to talk to them elsewhere and then just breaking it off like it was nothing.

Anywho, I know I didn’t say much, but I at least wanted to get it off of my chest. I’m just a hopeless romantic I guess. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

